Skip To The Main Content
About Us

The Sustainable Ozarks Partnership (SOP) focuses on the four county (Laclede, Phelps, Pulaski, and Texas) region directly surrounding Fort Leonard Wood. We are a nonprofit organization that was founded in 2012, as a result of the Initial Integrated Strategic Sustainability Plan (ISSP). The plan created six long-term strategic goals; one of the goals called for full and effective community engagement. The SOP has put together a strategic plan with our own goals that allow us to focus on attaining the community engagement goal set forth by the ISSP. Our four primary goals are:

    1. Gain positive recognition for the region. Achieve state and national recognition for the region as an excellent place for people to live, work, and play and for businesses to prosper.
    2. Strengthen the region. Be a catalyst for positive change for citizens, businesses, and governments throughout the region to improve the quality of life, and grow a diverse, sustainable economy.
    3. Strengthen Fort Leonard Wood. Ensure that FLW continues to be an enduring installation, with opportunities to grow with expanding or new missions.
    4. Ensure the viability of the SOP. Improve SOP efficiency and operational effectiveness so it can successfully support the region and Fort Leonard Wood.

    Our vision is:

    Regional communities, citizens, governments and organizations, Fort Leonard Wood (FLW), and state and federal enablers working together as stakeholders to make the region an ever better place to live, work and play, while enabling FLW mission success and advocating FLW mission sustainment and growth.

    Our mission is:

    Coordinate and facilitate growth of a diverse, sustainable economy for the region and publicize regional consensus while respecting individual interests of the members, function as the central point of contact for regional partners, foster the region’s continuing commitment to national defense, and advocate for local and regional development initiatives, as well as Fort Leonard Wood sustainment and growth.

    Staff listing:

    Kent Thomas, Executive Director
    Dorsey Newcomb, Technical Program Manager
    Bob Chapman, Administration
    Ron Selfors, Consultant
    Erin Kaberline, Communications Specialist/VISTA Volunteer

    Executive Committee/Board Members

    Chairman: Dr. Brian Henry, Superintendent, Waynesville School District

    Vice Chairman: Steve Ehrhardt, Co-Owner, Ehrhardt Properties

    Anthony Bamvakais, Senior Aide, Office of the Missouri Adjutant General

    Kimberly Bittle, District Forest Ranger, Mark Twain National Forest

    John Buchanan, Staff Member, Energy Div., Missouri Department of Economic Development

    Linda Conner, Executive Director, Lake of the Ozarks Council of Local Governments

    John Denbo, President, Phelps County Regional Medical Center

    Joe Driskill, Executive Director, Leonard Wood Institute

    Mike Dunbar, President, Security Bank of Pulaski County

    Honorable Luge Hardman, Mayor, City of Waynesville 

    Chris Heard, City Administrator, City of Lebanon

    Bruce Harrill, City Administrator, City of Waynesville

    Anita Ivey, City Administrator, City of St. Robert

    Lori Laughlin, Director, Mercy Clinic, St. Robert

    K. Lercher, Commanding General's Initiatives

    Jim Marcellus, Senior VP, Phelps County Bank

    Rick Morris, Director of Operations. Ft. Wood Hotels

    Johnny Murrell, Executive Director, South Central Ozarks Council of Governments

    Sarah Parker Pauley, Director, Missouri Department of Natural Resources

    John Petersen, Director of Community Development, City of Rolla

    Mark Premont, Director of Plans, Analysis and Integration, Garrison Command, FLW

    Bonnie Prigge, Executive Director, Meramec Regional Planning Commission

    Keith Pritchard, CEO, Security Bank of Pulaski County

    Bill Ransdall, Staff Member, Missouri Department of Economic Development

    Angie Rolufs, Director of the Office of Sustainable Energy and Environmental Engagement, Mo S&T

    Aaron Schmidt, Dep Director, Environmental Quality Division, Missouri DNR

    Don Shelhammer, Former County Commissioner, Texas County

    Tammy Snodgrass, Senior Staff, Meramec Regional Planning Commission

    Steve Tupper, FLW Liaison, Missouri S&T

    Brenda Wilbers, Chief of Energy Policy Program, Energy Division, Missouri DNR

    Honorable Dennis Wilson, Mayor, City of St. James

    Dalton Wright, President, Lebanon Publishing Company

Strengthening the Fort Leonard Wood region